Serratos named a 2020 New Century Transfer Scholar

by | Oct 21, 2020 | Foundation

Maria Serratos (2020), of Clinton, who was a student at the Raymond Campus, was named a 2020 New Century Transfer Scholar and received a $2,250 scholarship.

New Century Transfer Scholars are selected based on their academic accomplishments, leadership, activities, and how they extend their intellectual talents beyond the classroom. Over 2,000 students were nominated from more than 1,200 college campuses across the country. Only one New Century Transfer Scholar is selected from each state.

Serratos transferred to Mississippi State University for the fall 2020 semester and is pursuing a career in civil engineering.

“I never imagined I would be selected to win the New Century transfer scholarship,” she said. “With this award, my tuition and books at MSU are practically paid for, which will help me stay involved in campus and focused on my academics.”

The program is sponsored by The Coca-Cola Foundation, the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation, Phi Theta Kappa, and the American Association of Community Colleges (AACC).

“We congratulate Maria for receiving this prestigious scholarship, and we are honored to partner with the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation, The Coca-Cola Foundation, and the AACC to recognize her outstanding achievements,” said Phi Theta Kappa’s president and CEO Dr. Lynn Tincher-Ladner. “Scholarship programs like this are integral for creating opportunities for two-year college students to succeed and for putting college completion within reach.”

Phi Theta Kappa is the premier honor society recognizing the academic achievement of students at associate degree-granting colleges and helping them to grow as scholars and leaders. The Society is made up of more than 3.5 million members and nearly 1,300 chapters in 11 nations, with approximately 240,000 active members in the nation’s colleges.